Uncontrolled action

Corporal Si Longworth in Afghanistan

Corporal Si Longworth in Afghanistan

Corporal Si Longworth is one of 38 trained British Army photographers.  He left a career in aviation to pursue his passion for photography; capturing everything that military life has to offer. He is currently in Afghanistan as the Task Force Helmand Photographer on Op HERRICK 18.

“Eyes to me!”…Click

“Smile”…Click

“That’s it, just rotate your left shoulder a little towards me”…Click.

Considered, safe, controllable. Even outdoors in the intense Afghan sunlight I have begun to feel protected in the ‘comfort blanket’ that is portrait photography. When I first arrived out here, I was avoiding the piercing sun at all costs; angling for shade wherever I could. Now, because of a little gadget I was prompted to buy by a friend and expert lighter, Paul Brownbridge I am able to remain creative when lighting subjects even in the brightest of conditions. I will cover how in a future blog.

So back to comfort blankets. Warm, safe environments where a youngster can cuddle up and feel safe in. For some people, portrait photography is that comfort blanket. But is that the type of photography I always want to be doing? Did I transfer from the Army Air Corps to spend my days in photographic ‘Safesville, Tennessee’, where the most exciting thing that could happen is my subject gets grit in their eye from a passing helicopter? No, I did not!

 As it happens, I am quite lucky because the Army didn’t think so either.

‘Uncontrolled action’ is the name that is given at the Defence School of Photography to photography where the shooter doesn’t get a chance to set anything up. Sure, I have been getting out and about on the ground and grabbing images that are well and truly uncontrolled, as the action unfolds. A squint here, a gurn there; it doesn’t really matter to the young lads who are risking their lives. Those type of images tell a story of the ‘here and now’. A good facial expression can make an action-shot. I believe it gives a picture sincerity and allows a viewer to empathise and immerse themselves in the tale.

‘One shot – one kill’

On the other end of the uncontrolled action scale though, and somewhere where squinting and gurning is not what I am looking for from my subjects, is VIP visits. All around the world there are important people; whether it be royalty, religious, ministerial or celebrity who make visits and trips to meet and engage with other people, and there is generally somebody there to record that event be it on film or stills camera. In the Army it’s no different. Recently in Afghanistan, the person recording the event was me.

Over the last three weeks, Helmand has hosted a number of VIP visits and I had the opportunity to capture each one of them. Now I would like to think that somebody at the top knew I was fresh out of photography school and decided to ‘ease me in gently’ because as it panned out, they sent out the VIPs in order of ranking; Chief of the General Staff, Secretary of State for Defence and then finally the Prime Minister. I am sure this was purely coincidental though.

Each of the visits presented a new challenge, some of which I overcame and some of which I can assure you I will do better next time. Of all the pictures I take during a visit I ultimately select ones that portray the subject in the best ‘light’. VIP photography is no different to studio photography in this respect. However, due to the fact that the subject is engaged with other people and not striking a pose for my camera, the ‘one shot-one kill’ theory rarely rings true. If any of you reading out there find it does, then go buy a lottery ticket. For this reason, and obviously many others, Nikon invented ‘Continuous High’ on its cameras at up at speeds of up to11 frames a second on the D4.

Oooh, a comfort blanket then, I hear you say. Well not really, as you would be surprised what facial expressions can be manufactured during a burst of 11 frames.

Blinker

Some other photographers may be too proud to admit this, but I learnt quickly that if you are desperate for useable images then don’t be shy when it comes to converting light into ones and zeros on your memory cards. It costs nothing, and no photographer that ever got published was forced to supply their ‘hit ratio’ detailing the number of useable images vs squidgy, blinky  ‘gurn-a-thons’ along side their credit. This is a great and engaging image, but how many shutter clicks to get it?

CGS talks to the troops – Cpl Si Longworth

CGS talks to the troops – Cpl Si Longworth

Admittedly though, some subjects are harder to photograph than others and this is just a fact of life. I recently did a posed portrait of someone and shot 36 frames. Out of those 36, 4 of them were useable because they were a blinker.

So as the VIP arrives and makes their way through the Province, they meet various military commanders and soldiers and move in and out of vehicles, buildings and camps. They remain very aware of your presence and occasionally you catch their eyes looking at you in a way that possibly would suggest you are becoming an irritant. As long as this isn’t happening too often you can be content that you are not becoming too intrusive.

The Secretary of State is aware of my presence

The Secretary of State is aware of my presence.

I began by carrying two cameras with the trusty 24-70mm on one, and the 70-200mm on the other. I haven’t changed this tactic yet as it seems to work for me. I pop a flash on the body with the smaller lens on just in case I need it. There is so much movement involved in these visits that it really is best to be able to move light and fast, in order to get in front of the VIP with ease.

Royalty and celebrity

One of the other things I have to be aware of when capturing VIPs, who attract a lot of media attention, is the other camera and film crews. In each of the recent visits there have been at least two other sets of reporters and these can range from Capt Mau Gris and the ‘Baz duo’ from the Combat Camera Team to the BBC or Sky news. Wrestling for shooting space is all part of the fun. I haven’t managed to get into an altercation yet whilst angling for the best position, although I have heard of such tales. I always try to introduce myself when I can and ask questions about what they are after so that we can ‘divvy up’ the real estate. Sometimes, it’s just not possible.

Secretary of State with other film crews

Secretary of State with other film crews

I learned the hard way during the recent visit of the Prime Minister that BBC Cameramen do not take it too kindly when you stray into their shot. I wasn’t concentrating on my position and it is an easy mistake to make, but not one I will make again any time soon.

The cameraman spots me, seconds before I am told in no uncertain terms to move

The cameraman spots me, seconds before I am told in no uncertain terms to move.

No matter what my political persuasion, I am happy that I have been given the opportunity to photograph these people, although I am sure in my career as an Army Photographer, the opportunity may well present itself again. Hopefully in sunlight that isn’t so harsh.

So having had a fairly busy three weeks, I just have two more boxes to tick now; royalty and celebrity. We will just have to see which comes first.

It’s time for a little snooze. Where did I put that comfort blanket?

More tc…

Read Si’s other blogs here: Life Through a Lens…

17 thoughts on “Uncontrolled action

  1. Another great blog, with perfect pictures you are a truly inspiring photographer, I love taking pic’s but with me its more point & hope, than point & shoot!!

    Take Care

    Anna

    Like

  2. Si your living what you hoped it would be,I enjoy the blogs with your insight and will pass it on to the current 5300 I’m teaching. Not long now keep the head down and enjoy,but keep safe. Gordon

    Like

    • Hi Edd,

      all will be revealed in the next couple of days as my latest blog just talks about it and its effects… Hope you can wait.

      Si

      Like

  3. Not too sure what to say re keeping out of shot. I know I’ve been retired for ten years or so but I don’t think the ballpark has changed, there has always been a bit of a love hate relationship between stills and film/video cameramen. Unless it’s an arranged one to one you fought for every shot, no editor is interested in why you came back without any images or footage. Since digital imaging took off and especially with the rise of the Paps (irreverently known as monkeys with cameras) I’m told there seems to be far less tolerance in the news gathering world. BTW another interesting blog Si, stay safe. David

    Like

  4. Hi David,

    Glad you are still enjoying the blogs. I guess through my time as an army phot, i will come across this problem more and more, but I shall stand my ground, so to speak.

    All the best

    Si

    Like

  5. always an interesting read on your blog Si, you have a good way with words, a good flow.
    I’ve just started following, but have to say your photographs are sublime, very atmospheric and rich and being an artist, I can appreciate the ‘thought’ in the composition of them.
    I was trained by a civvie photographer whilst I served in the Australian Army many years ago (I studied b&w 35mm + dark room work) in my break time and loved every minute!

    I posted this on another page – so just copying here – I’m doing another painting for the Aussie Engineers (RAE Foundation) to raise funds for them, and this year it’s about MWD, and I loved your pic of the dog sitting beside his handler looking ahead – any chance I could use that as my inspiration?
    many thanks
    Annette

    Like

    • Hi Anna,

      firstly, of course you can. I can even email you a copy if you wish, and you are free to paint it as much as you like. Just send email me. Armyphot@gmail.com

      Secondly, thanks for taking the time to read my blogs and look through my work. I enjoy my new career path and hope I have as much fun in the next 5 years as I have these past 4 months in Afghan.

      I really appreciate your kind word regarding my imagery.

      All the best

      Si

      Like

  6. Pingback: Uncontrolled action | The Official British Army Blog

Comments are closed.