‘Hello’, this is me

Corporal Si Longworth in Afghanistan

Corporal Si Longworth in Afghanistan

Corporal Si Longworth is one of only 38 trained British Army Photographers.  He left a career in aviation to pursue his passion for photography; capturing everything that military life has to offer. He is currently in Afghanistan as the Task Force Helmand Photographer, on Op HERRICK 18.

So here I am… Blogging… It’s a day I thought the world would never see, but nevertheless, here it is.

I have decided to open up to the blogging world from a land, it seems time forgot. Somewhere in Central Asia, and somewhere I am all too familiar with. But more of that later.

Let me introduce myself:

My name is Si Longworth and I am a professional photographer (yes, the Army has those). I am one of 38 photographers (photogs or phots) for the Army, covering media operations globally.

Although I have been making pictures in one form or another for little over 20 years, I have only recently joined the photographic trade (Royal Logistic Corps) within the Army. I saw it as a calling to do something that I have always loved. I have been in the Army since seventeen and a half; dropping out of college to pursue a career in the Royal Military Police. Since then my career has seen many highs and lows –  but more of that to come. After all, you have me for the foreseeable future.

I’d like to take you on a journey and invite you to join me as I describe how I got here and what it’s like to be a British Army photographer.

For now though; ‘Hello’ from me.

More tc…

Read Si’s other blogs here: Life Through a Lens…

Sunset silhouette - It's a picture of me. By Sgt Baz Pope, RLC.

Sunset silhouette – It’s a picture of me. By Sgt Barry Pope, RLC.

13 thoughts on “‘Hello’, this is me

  1. Look forward to reading more of your ‘blogs’ the sunset silhouette is lovely, great pic, can’t wait to see more

    Anna

    Like

  2. Pingback: 'Hello', this is me | The Official British Army Blog

  3. Really look forward to hearing more and love the photo – I am a mum whose son is currently going through his plumbing and heating training in the Royal Engineers and I find it slightly reassuring to hear about the areas our armed forces are in and the way of life.

    Like

  4. my baby bro has just come bk safe and sound from afghanim so proud his 3rd tour safe and well god bless you all

    Like

Comments are closed.