No dramas with the Estonians

Signaller Mike Leonidas

Signaller Mike Leonidas

Signaller Mike Leonidas is a Communications Systems Operator (CS Op) currently stationed with 20 Armoured Brigade HQ and Signal Squadron (200), based in Sennelager, Germany. He is deployed on Op HERRICK 15 and is working with A Company Estonian Ops Team.

As Mike and his camp-mates settle into a routine, Mike grows a moustache for charity, has marriage in mind and yearns for a takeaway – ‘happy days’.

Good Estonian friends

Time has started to slow down a bit now and we have started to get into a bit more of a routine.  The sense of routine can give you a false sense of security but you always know that there will be something round the corner to keep you alert. For instance, this week I had to fix a radio mast, which involved precariously scaling a ladder in full body armour and helmet. Of course someone took the opportunity to shake the ladder around a bit for a joke!

When I’m not working, a few mates and I keep busy by constructing a new welfare area.  It’s certainly quite makeshift, but at least it will be ours and we intend to add a bit of a personal touch. We live in quite an austere environment so we have to make ourselves more comfortable however we can.

Sig Leonidas making alterations to some Radio Eqpt.

Sig Leonidas making alterations to some Radio Eqpt.

I’ve started to make some plans for my return to Germany. There are a lot of places that I want to visit and quite a few people I want to see.  I’ve made some very good Estonian friends here so I’m definitely going to visit Estonia after the tour. One of the Estonian soldiers has promised me that I can marry his sister – I hope she doesn’t mind.

‘No dramas’

My time away is also proving healthy for my bank balance. I haven’t spent a penny in a month now! If I could spend some money it would probably be on a steak or a takeaway. I’m certainly starting to miss a bit of home cooking.

The British and Estonian soldiers have a very good working relationship; we laugh and joke a lot with each other and pretend there is a divide but really we are one team.  It’s also good to hear them picking up British Army slang like ‘no dramas’ and ‘happy days’.  The banter is relentless: you can’t get away with anything without someone poking fun at you. My Movember moustache has been the subject of much attention.

I received my first welfare pack today which was great.  The packs itself contained an array of useful things in it, but it meant even more to us that someone had taken the time to prepare this box for us than the contents itself.

Members of my Squadron are based all over the place I can only hope everybody is fine and getting to grips with their local areas, I sometimes wonder how they are doing and what they have been up to. 

Mr Cat, the PB Mascot

Mr Cat, the PB Mascot

Sig Leonidas will now return to the UK for 14 days’ Rest and Recuperation Leave (R&R).

15 thoughts on “No dramas with the Estonians

    • Hello Mac
      I too am ex Corps 1959-1968 R/Op B A O R & Far East they are doing a great job today lets hope they all come home safe all corps regts & services
      Best Wishes Les

      Like

      • I second that whole heartedly Les. You had done 4 years by the time I joined in 63.
        Nice hearing from you
        Regards
        Mac

        Like

  1. Hello Mike
    I was in the Corps for 9 years i am that old we had FFR mules and used flags seriously I was a Radio Op doing on a good day & sober 20 WPM morse what you do today I dont think I could cope with!
    I have an amateur licence & a member of the Royal Signals Amateur Radio Society (Blandford).
    Take care all of you enjoy your R&R.
    Regards Les

    Like

  2. Hey Mike,
    I can vouch for the Estonians, as i am an ex british army soldier living in Estonia, and you are welcome to come over any time & i will show you all i know. good and bad.
    It’s a small country with a big heart.

    you guys can also follow some music at: http://www.mixcloud.com/jasebaillie

    regards to you all & thanx for all your dedication to the cause!

    jasebaillie

    Like

  3. if any guys from 16th reg signals Germany , a big hello, i dated a soldier from there few years back, there great bunch off guys. and gitls. and a great christmas and keep safe if on tour x

    Like

  4. Pingback: No dramas with the Estonians | Armyrats

  5. Pingback: No dramas with the Estonians « The Official British Army Blog | Light Dragoons

Comments are closed.