Hard work always pays off

Soldier under Training (SuT) Amazu blogs from the Army Training Centre on his eleventh and twelfth weeks of training.

SuT Amazu

SuT Amazu

Week 11

Monday
No two days at the DCCT are the same and today was something special. It was simply thrilling, attempting to hit a target that would disappear after 6 or so seconds. Watch and shoot!

Tuesday
Today had to go down as the longest day I spent on the ranges. Shooting at night rendered me speechless as I had to literally try not to blink in order to maintain my night vision. I had a funny feeling that I could be heaving ‘watch and shoot’ in my dreams that night.

Wednesday
I wouldn’t say we cruised through the 5 mile tab, though some of us might fell differently. Each mile required sheer commitment and hard work. I gave my fair share. It felt good to see the finish line. A bit more shooting was also on the menu to round up the day.

Thursday
Utmost concentration, proper breathing sessions and controlled adrenaline were required today at the shooting test (ACMT). The 200m point still proved to be the thorn in most peoples flesh. Thankfully next Thursday would be used to sort it out.

Friday
I was indeed glad to have completed the 6 mile tab. It was one of those activities you’d want to be part of since the platoon achieved a 100% pass rate. It was apparent that most of us were getting fitter. The subsequent lectures that followed (prisoner handling etc.) helped bring an eventful week to a beautiful end.

Saturday
The morning wet weather tried to induce sleep into most of us but you know there was work to be done, i.e. block jobs, best books and general admin. Thankfully, we managed to square most things away in time for the day release and proper relaxation, watching movies and what have you.

Sunday
Apart from the usual routine, I took out time to go over my notes and brace myself for the upcoming test in the week ahead. Most of us were involved in similar activities too. We also sorted out our lockers to achieve uniformity across the sections. It was a good week and I’d like to think that it can only get better.

Week 12

Monday
The visit to the F.O.B today brought reality to being on Operations. We also had a thrilling time doing fire and manoeuvre drill as part of the first phase of Exercise FINAL FLING.

Tuesday
ACMT was finally done and dusted (at least for the next 12 months). The 200m shoot was beaten today yay! We also had an expose on battle casualty drills; some really scary stuff.

Wednesday
The grand finale of the assault course took place today. I have never been muddier in my life. I bet there were boot prints of the whole platoon on every inch of the course. I am glad we managed it in the end.

Thursday
We took it a step further in our Arms Drill today. Everything was now geared towards this Phase 1 pass off parade. This was preceded by a PT session which yielded a 100% pass across the platoon as well. Hard work always pays off.

Friday
I was yet another opportunity to ‘seize, slam and grab’ our weapons during the arms drill as directed by our platoon Sgt. I never knew that slapping cold metal with your bare hand (very hard) were such desirable skills. It wasn’t a boring day at all.

Saturday
Today’s day release did us a lot of good. It provided an opportunity to relax, get our heads down and also tie up every loose end towards our preparations for the next week’s exercise.

Sunday
We received final briefings on the eve of Exercise FINAL FLING, and we were looking forward to this final week long push before the long awaited pass off parade.