Everything at Knightsbridge starts early

In his first blog, Captain Anton Lin writes from Knightsbridge about rehearsals for the Major General’s Inspection, and an upcoming performance at the Royal Tattoo.

Late last night I managed to finish the planning details for the Royal Tattoo, which I sent out to the relevant parties.  I was glad to have this burden removed and it allowed me to concentrate better on this morning’s rehearsals for the Major General’s Inspection.  This is a parade we carry out at the start of the season in order to demonstrate to the Major General that the Household Cavalry is ready to perform its duties to the high standard expected.

Rehearsals are always early – in fact, everything at Knightsbridge starts early. A normal working day starts at 0600hrs for us all so we can have the roads and parks as much to ourselves as possible when we ride.  This morning’s rehearsal was a mix of exercising the horses and walking through the parade to learn the words of command.

Upon returning from riding and breakfast I saw that I had a hundred questions arising from my email last night.  Most of them relate to logistical details concerning the French Garde Republicaine – our mounted counterparts in Paris – who are riding with us at the Royal Tattoo this year.  What time will they take over their accommodation?  Are our vets allowed to treat their horses or will they bring their own vet? And so on.

Luckily I am off to Paris this afternoon to watch them perform and hopefully have some of my own questions answered.  Once I get back I will need a long meeting with our Riding Master to come up with a routine that will best demonstrate the varied skills of our Ride and their mounted band.  Our two groups together will number nearly sixty horses and we have only 14 minutes each night…