He was watching our every move

Soldier under Training (SuT) Jamie Davies blogs again from the Army Training Centre, Pirbright. Did he pass his Drill test?

SuT Jamie Davies

SuT Jamie Davies

This week we started with CBRN lessons. CBRN stands for chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear. We’ve learnt how our CBRN suits and respirators work to protect us and we learnt how to put them on quickly! We also had loads of practice for our Drill test, which was on Wednesday, which we all passed!  Everybody was on a high afterwards and it felt so good to have the pressure of that test off our shoulders.

Before the Drill test itself we had an inspection from the Squadron Sergeant Major.  We were all really nervous because he was watching our every move but, like I said, we all passed and my section (1 Section) did particularly well!

The day after the Drill test we had a questionnaire on  how we thought training was going and how we think the Army can improve the training.  There’s no hierarchy present as we fill in the questionnaire so we can say what we want, good or bad.

I am joining the Royal Logistic Corps as a driver and so went on a visit to Deepcut to visit a working unit this week.  It was really interesting and confirmed in my mind that I have made the right trade choice.  After the visit we had another fitting for our Number 2 dress which is our passing out uniform.

On Thursday we had our Families Day.  We showed our families what we do on a day to day basis. There were fieldcraft stands where the visiting families and friends had the opportunity to try ration packs (yum!), watch us on the obstacle course, watch us firing on the DCCT laser range and see how we perform pair fire and manoeuvres. There was also a Drill demonstration. I think most of the families had a good time!

It’s now time to go home and I feel like I have really deserved my weekend off.  I can not wait to spend time with my family and friends and relax in civilian clothes!