I hope I’m a good shot…

Soldier under Training (SuT) Jamie Davies blogs from the Army Training Centre, Pirbright, about the second week of his Phase 1 training.

SuT Jamie Davies

SuT Jamie Davies

On the Monday of week 2 we began our rifle training on the SA80 A2 (the standard British Army rifle).  Throughout the week we learned most of the drills that we need to know for our weapons handling test which is in week 4.  Once we pass our weapons handling test we can go on the ranges and fire the rifle using live ammunition.  I am really excited about the prospect of getting onto a range and practising the skills we have been learning.  I hope I’m a good shot – it would be brilliant if I could become a marksman!

Physical Training (PT) this week has been difficult but very rewarding. We have done a wide range of exercise from swimming to endurance runs and circuits.  I had really sore shins for one of the endurance runs and so afterwards I went to the Medical Centre to see the Doctor who referred me to the Physiotherapist. Thankfully my shins are now a lot less painful and I’ve been able to join in all PT sessions. On Saturday we had a football competition between our sections, which ended with a penalty shootout – and my section won! The football session brought all the lads together and morale was at the highest it has been so far.

Everyone is beginning to get used to getting up at 6am and getting to bed at 11pm.  It’s  strange living in 12- man rooms but it is quite useful for when we need to work together as a team.  We are each developing different things that we are good at.

7 thoughts on “I hope I’m a good shot…

  1. Thank you for posting this information, im hoping to be starting in January if i pass Selection. Thank You, this gives me a real heads up.

    Like

  2. My son is also there and loving it. Sounds like everyone who is still there has the ability to make it through to the end which will just be the beginning for you all.

    Good luck and watch out for shin splints!

    Like

  3. good to hear what life is like,have just had my maths and english and waiting for date to go off for two days medical.am looking forward ti it and sounds like you are enjoying it too.good luck mate j

    Like

  4. Thanks for this!! looking forward to it! 17th of Oct here i come. Hope the shins don’t cause you too many problems as i know it does with many! good luck!

    Like

  5. Great to read your blog Jamie.My nephew is at Pirbright doing Phase 1 training, and its a good to see you what the training involves.Also how motivated you all are.Success to you .

    Like

  6. just keep going jamie all will be good after your initial training. I wonder if CSM HAY is still there i think thats his name he was in the BROWNING platoon i’m not sure if thats there anymore.

    anyway good luck pal!!

    Like

  7. Hiya Jamie. gud to knw ur faring wel..just wanted to find out real quickly, does being a soldier in trainig mean u have alrdy finished with ur pre-selection?.I just completd my BARB n medical QnA, n i just want to knw the way forward..cant wait!!

    Like

Comments are closed.