My ironing has improved!

Soldier under Training (SuT) Alastair Byrne, currently undergoing Phase 1 Training at ATC Pirbright blogs about his second week of training and of learning the importance of punctuality!

SuT Byrne

SuT Byrne

Week 2: our first lesson on the SA80 rifle,  learning simple safety precautions to start off with.  My new boots were playing up a bit, so I went to the Medical Centre. They gave me some good advice on foot care and on using zinc tape to stop the rubbing.

At 7am on Tuesday morning we had a locker inspection. My ironing has improved, although I’m not a master yet!  We also had first endurance run and learned how to load and make a rifle safe.  In the afternoon, there was a swimming lesson (no slides or splashing!) before we had a lecture about the importance of insuring our kit.

Thursday started off badly – a few people were late so we were given a “time appreciation” lesson, where we had to change into different clothing within a limited time.  We had our first lesson on map reading and navigation, too. It found it interesting and am looking forward to the next.

On Saturday morning we all went for a game of indoor football. Our section won and we will be reminding the other sections regularly of our victory!  This was followed by a physical training (PT) lecture on training zones before we had the rest of the day to ourselves.  I spent it at  the laundry – which is always a good laugh – before playing some pool.

On Sunday I passed my locker inspection.  I was surprised – since  ironing isn’t one of my strengths – but obviously I have improved.  So I won’t be parading around the Guard Room next week.

Another trip to the WRVS building brought some normality back to us, before some heavy discussions continued late into the night on how to achieve the best locker layout. We all came to the same conclusion though, thank God!

14 thoughts on “My ironing has improved!

  1. get a block of green soap turn your article inside out and dampen the soap and run it down the crease turn it back again and iron with a damp cloth between iron and garment it will achieve razor sharp crease

    Like

  2. Crack on and open your ears mate,you ‘ll be fine trust me.What is worth doing at all is worth doing well.Am waiting for my phase 1 training in Bassingbourn{RE}and loking forward to iy.Been to Pirbright many times on my friend POP and for my ADSC,they have got the right environment.They will push you to the limit but for your good and to be the soldier you dreamt of.Be the best

    Like

  3. Or get a ordinary candle turn your stuff inside out run the candle down your creases on your trousers then use a med hot iron once you turned them back again. just remember to use brown papaer between the iron and your stuff to stop any burning. Should hold it till you re-launder your gear.

    Like

  4. It’s good to read about normal everyday Army life Alastair, the training sounds tough but interesting and challenging. I’m sure you will make an excellent soldier and make your friends and family, and country, very proud. Keep up the good work and well done soldier. Very best wishes to you.

    Like

  5. Thank you for your service and for sharing your experience – quite interesting. I know I learned a few things about creases from this post and the follow ups!

    Like

  6. Stop whinging about your boots hurting and get on with it! They’ll hurt a bloody site more in your career, I can promise you!

    Like

  7. Neither Sarah nor I can stand ironing so feel free to pop round to Leatherhead any time mate! Really enjoying the blog and can tell that you’re enjoying it there. Keep up the hard graft and looking forward to reading some more.

    Like

  8. Alastair.. your Mum will be so proud!
    🙂
    So nice to read a blog that is chatty and informative.
    Get doing what you are doing and you won’t go wrong x

    Like

  9. Well done ,good to read as my son started basic training the same time as you but down at winchester . Keep up the hardwork it will be worth it in the end

    Like

  10. Put your fresh washed laundrey up in the drying room for a few hours, most creases will come out, and it gives u time for kit prep

    Like

  11. Its good to read your 2nd blog Alastair.I am so glad you are enjoying it and you sound so very motivated.Must admit I would have told them what I thought and would have to spend 5 years in the guardroom!!Well done and please come to Amsterdam in December to do our ironing and shoe cleaning.XX

    Like

Comments are closed.