Just keep going!

SuT Jamie Davies, a new recruit at the Army Training Centre in Pirbright writes about his first week of basic training in the British Army.

SuT Jamie Davies

SuT Jamie Davies

When I first arrived at the Army Training Centre Pirbright I did not know what to expect.

Meeting new people was surprisingly easy.  Everybody is in the same situation as you. Everybody has questions and worries.  My main concern was fitness.  The training is hard but you just keep going.  Getting through the lessons benefits you in the long run because your fitness will improve.  I am really enjoying the training so far and I am looking forward to my career in the Army.

Soldiers under Training (SuTs) work hard on their fitness in one of the three gym halls at ATC Pirbright.

Soldiers under Training (SuTs) work hard on their fitness in one of the three gym halls at ATC Pirbright.

4 thoughts on “Just keep going!

  1. hi jamie i read your page and it reminded me of my son when he 1st went to pirbright he has just done 10 wks of his phase 1 training and only 4 to go he passes out on the 15th oct and im really looking forward to it he is really enjoying it and im sure you will too good luck x

    Like

  2. it is now coming to the end of my second week ATC Perbright had a really good week going to get more education while am here keep working on my fitness looking forward to my pt session on monday thank you for the support lads, you make alot of frinds in traing that you will keep for life if you are goin to join the army make sure you come with your fitness up to standard’s you never can do enough wish i put more time in on fitness just cant wait to pass out and become a soildier, i will keep updating my blog thanks

    Like

  3. Glad to hear it. I start my phase 1 in 2 months. My main worry is my fitness aswell. I’d say I have an average fitness standard but It’s still my main concern. Can’t wait to start and hope you get on well.

    Like

Comments are closed.