Treating the locals on patrol

Lance Corporal John Zoumides, a medic with 1 SCOTS at a patrol base in Sangin, writes about treating local Afghan children on patrol.

Working in a crowd

Working in a crowd

We had a nice patrol into Gumbatty where I ended up treating about seven children with minor cuts and bruises, and two more who had some very nasty burns to their feet.

Injured foot

Injured foot

Poor little guys. They must have been only about four years old but they were so, so brave. Try getting a British kid to sit still, almost in wonderment, whilst a stranger lances huge blisters and oozes fluid from them. I made sure they got one of the bright pens I had to give out. The gratitude on their faces was quite tear-jerking.

Brave little fellas!

Brave little fellas!

I got Corporal Skinner to take lots of pictures of the treatment. I will make a reporter yet!

I have been given a video camera now so I can make video blogs. Because we have no computers in our PB, let alone internet, I have had to write everything out by hand and then send it by road to FOB Jackson. I haven’t written so much in ages. So now I can record what I am thinking in person and post it here.

Insert photo: onguard.jpg

I am still doing most of the cooking for the lads – except three of them who don’t like my arty-farty creations.

My arty-farty creations

My arty-farty creations

They cook their own bland fare instead. But I am very glad my yiayia (Greek for grandma) taught me a little bit about cooking as did my German grandma.

We had Sky news to stay in our PB for a few days and that was a welcome change of scene. I am told they did loads of stories on us but we haven’t been able to see them of course. Hopefully someone will have taped them and I will see them when I am on R&R – which is VERY soon! Can’t wait.